Prescription Addiction

It is no secret to society that there is a prescription addiction ‘problem’ in America. There are many different types of addiction to drugs, but addiction to prescription pills is an epidemic here that the majority continue to overlook. Many people are addicted to prescription medications and do not even realize it yet. A hard truth that will hit them in the near future.

A major contributor to the epidemic is unethical drug companies and physicians. Some doctors make their living by prescribing opioids for a living; with the education they hold it is known to them that they are getting and keeping persons addicted. These unethical doctors are legal drug dealers who know how to document and prescribe in such a way where they do not break any laws.

By no means am I laying full blame on doctors, but they are indeed part of the problem in this opioid epidemic. It should be fully understood that some people do require prescription pain medication for various injuries and illnesses. It is how most doctors manage their patients that contribute to this problem of addiction.

Several years ago I became addicted to prescription pain medication. In order to fight this addiction and free myself I was put on Suboxone. Suboxone is a synthetic opioid consisting of buprenorphine and naloxone. It is primarily used to wean patients off of other opioids, similar to methadone. This was a huge mistake that I now realize. I cannot change the past, but I can educate others from my experience.

Now that I reflect on this experience I have come to the conclusion that I was not that bad off before I was prescribed Suboxone. If I would have had the proper care, I could have been weaned off of the prescription opioids without needing the Suboxone, which I was on for 8 years. The Suboxone helped me, but it was a prolonged bandaid that limited my potential as a person.

I say this because I became dependent on the Suboxone, which was a substitute for the prescription pain medication I was abusing. I was able to work and function as a ‘normal’ person, but it was as if I was in handcuffs with the warden being the doctor I had to see in order to get the Suboxone prescription. Every month I had to go into the doctor, pay a fee and take a drug screen in order to get the prescription.

It became a routine I hated as it took away from things I really wanted to do in life. In this time, the doctor and counselor never asked or came up with a plan to get me off. As long as I went in, paid the fee and passed the drug screen I had a Suboxone prescription in hand to fill. This added up to be a large sum of money for both the doctor and the makers of Suboxone over the 8 years I was on it.

I came to the point where I was sick and tired of being on this poison. I decided I would stop taking it and started my own plan of weaning myself off. The doctor tried to convince me that I needed to be on it for life, but I was not having it. After a month of taking low doses I came to the end of being on this medication.

It was the end of Suboxone for me, but the beginning of a 3 month trip to hell in dealing with the withdrawal and side-effects that nearly killed me. It has been a year now since I have been off of it and I am just starting to feel as I believe I always should have.

 

 

Leave a Reply

